top of page

Knittin' My Fingers Off

It's been about a month since my last post; and I thought it'd be a good idea to post now - just before I get too busy to post again for a month or so.

Well, I have three big exhibitions happening next month!

There's one at the Slingshot Gallery and Bar where I have on piece of work in there titled '18 Butterflies'. It's an old piece I did over 15 years ago, but still it's a lovely piece painted in acrylics and is about hope - which is what the exhibition is called. The special thing about this piece is that I built and stretched this piece of canvas myself at an arts course I did many years ago at Kingston College of TAFE. It was so fiddly and complex, I just didn't want to do that ever again. So, this piece is a one-of-a-kind in so many ways. It looks like there's not 18 butterflies there - but there are. Yes, it's an optical illusion. And if you put it in sunlight, you'll find I used gold calligraphy paint on it as well. So, this painting took about 6 months to dry properly.

Then next month, on 14th, September, the Logan Artists Association, has an art opening. I've got another piece in that gallery titled 'Morning Storm'. It's for sale and is one of my best pieces. It's been painted in water-based oils and I finished it only last month. So, it'll still smell a little oily - even now. If you're interested in my painted works, go and have a look at my other wix.com site and suss out the paintings there... they are all for sale.

And more recently, I've been knitting a lot! Mainly I've been knitting as a type of relaxation - but then earlier this year, I got into creating a couple of new beanies. My main one people are interested in is 'Lynda's Crazy Beanie' - it's a cool piece of work and will be for sale at the Logan Art Gallery's Pop-Up Store. I've also got a collection of Baby Beanies in all the softest yarns and coolest colours as well. Jillian Beardsworth even bought the cutest little pixie beanie off me (a one-of-a-kind beanie - but I will make more if you'd like to order more) for her grand-daughter. I will be taking part in their demonstration day in November - it's going to be fun to show people other pieces I've been working on; like my 'Lollipop' beanies. These ones are called this because they look like 'Chupa-chups'.

So, I've been very busy lately, creatively, and it's been an amazingly busy time for me to get everything in on time. But I'm having fun getting it all together! Until my next post here, keep creating!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page